NASW Foundation Grants Awards to Social Workers

WASHINGTON—The National Association of Social Workers Foundation (NASWF), the development arm of the National Association of Social Workers, recently awarded scholarships and fellowships to 13 social workers and students of social work.

“Each of the award winners has shown a desire to help make this country better in many ways—helping the under served receive necessary treatment, reaching out to special population groups, and advancing the social work profession overall.” Says NASW Foundation President and Executive Director of the National Association of Social Workers, Elizabeth J. Clark, PhD, ACSW, MPH. “The NASW Foundation takes pride in being able to grant awards to social workers and social work students.”

The Jane B. Aron Doctoral Fellowship was awarded to Deneece Ferrales, a doctoral candidate at the University of Texas at Austin School of Social Work, for her dissertation “The Development of HIV/AIDS Policy: An International Policy Analysis.” The Aron Doctoral Fellowship is a fellowship program that provides partial support to doctoral students who are engaged in dissertation research in health care policy and practice. Her expected completion date is December 2003. Ferrales has an MSW from the Worden School of Service, Our Lady of the Lake University in San Antonio.

The Eileen Blackey Doctoral Fellowship has been awarded to Silvia Dominguez for her dissertation “The Role of Social Networks and Social Services in Shaping the Mobility of Latin-American Women Living in Public Housing,” which she aims to have completed by May of 2003. Dominguez is a doctoral candidate in the Sociology and Social Work Doctoral Program at Boston University in Massachussets. The Blackey Fellowship program provides partial support to doctoral students who are engaged in dissertation research in welfare policy and practice.

The Consuelo W. Gosnell Memorial MSW Scholarship is awarded to masters degree candidates in social work who are interested in working with American Indian/Alaska Native and Hispanic/Latino populations, or in public and voluntary non-profit agency settings. Gosnell was a social worker and champion of civil and human rights and worked diligently to ameliorate conditions for critically under served American Indians and Latinos in the Southwest. The award varies each year, depending on market rates and amount accrued in the fund, usually between $1000 and $4000.

This year, there are 10 recipients of the Gosnell scholarship:

  • Olivia Arrieta, Arizona State University
  • Vanesscia Lynn Bates, Washington University at St. Louis
  • Hector Dominguez, Georgia State University
  • Braulio Garcia, University of California at Berkeley
  • Anne Farina, Saint Louis University
  • Lori Moussapour, New York University
  • Edith R. Pavez, Fordham University
  • Dawn Phillips, State University of New York at Buffalo
  • Carrie Schonwald, University of Washington
  • Marquita Rose Thompson, University of Washington

And finally, the Verne LaMarr Lyons Memorial Scholarship that is awarded to MSW candidates who demonstrate an interest in, or experience with, health/mental health practice and a commitment to working in the African American community. This year, the scholarship has been awarded to Mary F. Williams, a second-year MSW candidate who has worked for five years as a Mental Health Case Manager at District 19 Community Services Board in rural Southside Virginia.

For more information about you can help make a difference through the NASW Foundation, or applications for awards programs, please contact Kerri Criswell at or go to
National Association of Social Workers, 750 First Street, NE • Suite 800, Washington, DC 20002
NASW Member Services 800-742-4089 Mon-Fri 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. ET or
©2017 National Association of Social Workers. All Rights Reserved.
  • Update Your Profile in the Member Center
  • Login